The Sacred Temple of Bajra Sandhi Renon, Bali

Contented having my dawn to morning in Sanur, I moved to the next destination. The most awaited destination ever. Hotel. After having more about 12 hours in the bus, finally I have my precious time just for stretch my legs. Yes, there I was, Hotel Taman Wirama, Denpasar, Bali. That was not five stars hotel, just some kinds of resting place but that was really the best place to take a rest. God, finally!! I have my room in the second floor which has a direct view to the green village in the west, and beautiful sunrise in the east as I could enjoy it exactly from my balcony. The sunrise arose from the top-roof of Balinese house and that was so beautiful sunrise at that morning. Here is the picture of the Wednesday sunrise exactly from my second floor balcony.

Denpasar Sunrise from my balcony

Denpasar Sunrise from my balcony

Soon after took a while rest, having shower and having lately breakfast, we made towards next destination, Bajra Sandhi. A monument to remember the struggle of Balinese people in chasing the independence in Bali. That was my second time I went there, but twice times I did not allow to enter because I was having my period. I wondered why, then I asked my tour-guide why the period woman should not enter it. He answered that one day there was a period woman insisted to enter the main building, then she got confused to exit the building. That’s actually the myth, believe it or not it depends on the person. I did not believe it but I took my respect to their beliefs so that I did not enter the main building and just have sight seeing in the ground floor of Bajra Sandhi.

Before entering Bajra Sandhi, my tour guide asked to all of visitors who brought the camera to register their camera in the left office in front of entrance gate. One camera has to pay Rp. 1000 for the registration. After paying that, I entered the Bajra Sandhi and took some pictures there. Because I did not allow to enter the main building I have a chance to enter the exhibit room which has so many memoriam pictures of Bali in the day of yore.

Utamaning Utama Mandala, Bajra Sandhi, Renon, Bali

Utamaning Utama Mandala, Bajra Sandhi, Renon, Bali

Bajra Sandhi, Renon, Bali

Bajra Sandhi, Renon, Bali

groundfloor of Bajra Sandhi, Renon, Bali

groundfloor of Bajra Sandhi, Renon, Bali

The Green Garden of Bajra Sandhi, Renon, Bali

The Green Garden of Bajra Sandhi, Renon, Bali

Bajra Sandhi was built to remember the hassle of Balinese people to take away the Independence of Bali.
Bajra Sandhi is located in Renon, the government territory which I could see the array of government buildings. Bajra Sandhi has three main building. The first is Utamaning Utama Mandala. It is on the third floor as a place of tranquility, a place of silence and enjoying the view around the monument. Visitors can see the panorama of Denpasar from this place. To reach this place the visitor must pass a long stairs.

Madyaning Utama Mandala is the second floor as a dioramas, with the total is 33 units. Second floor is a place to see the miniature of Balinese people’s struggle from time to time. The diorama is similar to National Monument in Jakarta. But, here is only shows the struggle of the Balinese people. It starts from the beginning of the Balinese kingdom, the entrance of Hinduism, Majapahit era, Netherlands colonialism, struggle of independence, until the present.

Nistaning Utama Mandala is a ground floor of the building, which containing the information room, Librarianship room, exhibit room, conference room, administrative room, and restrooms. In the middle of the room there is a lake that is named as Puser Tasik.

In lunch time, we were heading to Cening Bagus, one of the center handkerchief in Bali. The first floor, we can find so many kinds of gifts such as clothes, sandals, bed-cover, various kind of snacks, etc. And for second floor, I found so many traditional handkerchief special from Bali and I bought a “klintingan” made from bamboo which is now I hang it in front of my house. We have our lunch and prayer in other side of building. After finished all, we were moving forward to the next destination, Kuta Beach.

Leave a Reply

