Thankfulness to the God in Tanah Lot, Bali

My friends mostly said that I’m so lucky can have travel all the time. Yeah, they think that so but actually I just embrace travel opportunities. Whenever there is a chance to travel, I will travel. It’s no need much money as everyone thinks when they hear about travel, but we still can go on a shoestring budget. Just like my second Journey to Bali recently. I did not bring much money just like when my first time be there and I just brought ¼ of my first journey’s budget! Yeah, I try to be a parsimonious traveler which is more familiar with backpacker traveler. It will make you have more and more travel by spending little budget in every your travel.

That was my beautiful second day in Bali. I started my day by plopping down myself in swimming pool beside my room. That was still 04.00 am WITA but I did not feel so cold because there was a heather inside the pool. Yes, that was actually my long desirable of having an early morning swimming so that I could feel cold sensation in my back belly. But I could not do it because I do not have my own swimming pool and when I got chance I did it. I do not know why, by splashing myself into a water I feel fresh outside and inside, just like all my weary gone.

from other side of my room balcony

from other side of my room balcony

where you can find a tranquility

where you can find a tranquility

An hour later, the sun began to rise beautifully and I have uploaded the picture in my previous story “The Sacred Temple of Bajra Sandhi Renon, Bali.” See, how beauty it was! And the other side of balcony I could see the tranquility morning in the village which is covered by morning dew and mist. From afar, I faintly heard Hindu’s chant chanting in solemnly. This was a real Bali.

After finished my breakfast, I prepared myself and checked out from Hotel to move again to the next destination. Tanah Lot, Joger then Ulun Danu Berantan. First we went to Tanah Lot. Along way to there, my tour-guide told me the story about the entry of Islam in Bali. Apparently, it was connected with a prince from Madura who married with ill-princess of Pemecutan Kingdom. The shocking one was when I remembered my friend from Madura who has a royal ancestor told in that story, directly I sent him a message about that. Then we arrived in Tanah Lot.

Tanah Lot means Land on the sea. Accidentally, my arriving there coincide with the Segara Kerthih ceremony which makes Tanah Lot was crowd by so many Hindu’s people who wears a white uniform. I began to curious and took pictures while I asked about what they brought at that moment. To their religious ceremonial they brought some offerings which put into a basket called “Bebanten”. After praying in a small shrine then they moved to the bigger shrine to get a holy water, then they crossed the high water to take their offerings on the shrine which is stand on the rock. That’s why it’s called Tanah Lot.

In the other side of the shore, there is a Holy Snake Cave where a poisonous snake exists there so long time and do not die. But again, a period woman could not permit to enter and see it. I actually wanted to wash my hand with the holy water in the floating shrine, but my tour-guide said that it was forbidden. Maybe just like in Muslim when woman has a period, she is forbidden to do a religious act.

Segara Kerthih Ceremony in Tanah Lot. Bali

Segara Kerthih Ceremony in Tanah Lot. Bali

Bebanten : the plaBebanten : a basket for offeringsce for offerings

Bebanten : a basket for offerings

They were ready for the ceremony

They were ready for the ceremony

Having prayer in a shrine

Having prayer in a shrine

Ooh, I found something good that really gave me a lesson to aware about the cleanliness. When I accompanied my friend to go to the toilet I sat in one of Balinese house and it was very clean, orderly, aesthetic and artistic. Yes, Balinese people gives a big respect of art. I saw some shrines in their little home and I began to asking why they have a big respect of cleanliness. Suddenly I have my own answer remembering a sentence in Indian Movie, Taree Zamen Par, “Cleanliness is Godliness”. This is why Balinese people have a big respect in beauty, because beauty is clean. They keep their environment clean to keep its beauty.

Another answer to my own question suddenly I found when I saw some offerings in front of their house. They serve offerings in every their day to their God because God will protect them in their day. They feel that God really close to them so that they have to keep their environment clean. From their every religious act, they say thanks to God. Yeah, that was just my thoughts, but I really give my respect to their beliefs, to their solemnly religious deed.

Balinese House

Balinese House

See, the first time i thought that it is a exhibit house but apparently the owner said that it is just a house. I looked into the house and there are so many beautiful painting there. see how Balinese people have a big respect in art. That’s how they show their thankfulness to the God.

One thought on “Thankfulness to the God in Tanah Lot, Bali

Leave a Reply

